top of page
Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo

Brief History

A brief history of the City of La Joya and surrounding communities on the United States border with Mexico.

Chapter 2:
Spanish Colonizers to Revolutions

Spanish Ancestors Colonize the Region

More than 100 years after the Dutch threat, in 1747 Blas de la Garza Falcon lead a Spanish expedition from what is now Laredo to the Gulf of Mexico, mapping the northern bank of the Rio Grande.  This recon was part of the larger effort by Spain to colonize El Seno Mexicano, with Jose de Escandon as the leader.

Original Reynosa Townsite Plat

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

Escandon established several settlements or colonias along the Rio Grande, including Reynosa, Tamaulipas on March 14, 1749.  Reynosa included the establishment of Los Ejidos de Reynosa on the river’s northern bank.  These communal lands would be used by Reynosa residents for subsistence farming.

In 1767, Spanish King Carlos III granted tracts of land along the Rio Grande River, from the Gulf to Laredo, to notable settlers.  At this time, a large tract generally south of U.S. Highway 83, from Jara Chinas Road (FM 2221) east to Abrams Road, was designated as Los Ejidos de Reynosa.  Another large tract, Porcion 46, was granted to Jose Matias Tijerina, who established a settlement naming it Havana.

In 1802 Reynosa was moved downstream to avoid flooding plaguing the original townsite (now present-day Reynosa Diaz).

It was at this time that Francisco de la Garza, a descendent of the founders of Reynosa, and other Reynosa residents founded Tabasco on the western part of the Ejidos de Reynosa,  instead of moving to the new Reynosa.  In time the Ejidos would be called Los Ejidos de Reynosa Viejo.

Mexicans, Texans & Otros Revolt

Tabasco and Havana residents would witness the tumult of Mexico’s fight for independence from Spain in 1821, followed by the succession of Texas from Mexico in 1836.  Tabasco and Havana residents were subjects of the Spanish Empire, then Mexican nationals before becoming citizens of the new Republic of Texas.

The times were turbulent.  In January 1840 they became residents of the nascent Republic of the Rio Grande, but this republic collapsed by November.  It did allow Tabasco and Havana resident eventually to claim status under seven, rather than six flags.

Republic of Rio Grande Flag

By 1846 Texas and the United States incorrectly claimed Texas extended to Tamaulipas territory north of the Rio Grande River, making Tabasco and Havana disputed territory.  The Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo settled the Mexican-American War, granting American citizenship to Mexican nationals living in newly annexed areas and guaranteeing title to their lands.

bottom of page